Chessels Court is one of the places where the architect Robert Hurd who is buried in the Kirkyard worked. The buildings on the far side and on the right date from the 18th century. On the left of the Court and along part of the Canongate side, the buildings were put up in the 1960s. Learn about the Court's darker history which inspired the famous tale 'Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde'.
Three brass letters 'S' are set into the cobbles where the Abbey Strand joins the Canongate. Until 1880, debtors could shelter from their creditors within the historic abbey boundaries which was marked by these brass letters. Learn about a Royal debtor who took sanctuary here.
The following quotation from Sir Walter Scott's Heart of Midlothian is set into the wall of the Scottish Parliament: 'When we had a king, and a chancellor, and parliament-men o' our ain, we could aye peeble them wi' stanes when they werena gude bairns - But naebody's nails can reach the length o' Lunnon'.
Every Scottish burgh possessed a tollbooth, which acted as a courthouse, prison, meeting place and the means to collect tolls from travellers entering the town. Today Canongate Tolbooth houses the People's Story Museum.
Discover Edinburgh’s fascinating history through the Museum of Edinburgh’s wide and varied collections. In exploring the Museum’s maze of 16th century buildings, you will see iconic items, beautiful objects and learn fascinating facts and gruesome tales.
White Horse Close takes its name from an inn that used to stand at its north end. Journeys to London would start from its courtyard. The close was also once home to William Dick who founded the Royal School of Veterinary Studies.