The Scott Monument stands as a towering tribute to one of Scotland’s literary giants, Sir Walter Scott. Designed by George Meikle Kemp and completed in 1846, this Gothic masterpiece is a fitting tribute to the man who reshaped the landscape of Scottish literature. Its intricate design and soaring spire have made it an iconic landmark in the heart of Edinburgh.
Following Scott’s death in 1832, money was raised by public donations to build a suitable memorial. The monument is a 5-tiered spire on an arched base, where a statue of Sir Walter Scott sits, wrapped in Border plaid, with his dog Maida.
Perched prominently in the heart of Edinburgh, the Scott Monument is one of the largest monuments to a writer anywhere in the world. Its proximity to Princes Street and Waverley Station makes it easily accessible, inviting both locals and visitors to explore its ornate design, the story of the monument and Scott himself, and experience 360-degree views of the city.
In the early 1990s, a proposal was made to clean the stonework. However a scientific/geological investigation, including cleaning trials on samples of stone, it was decided not to clean the stone due to the damage that would result. Instead a restoration programme was undertaken involving replacing old repairs and damaged areas with Binny stone for which purpose the original quarry in West Lothian was re-opened.
If you would like to know more about the topic above, please contact us directly.
5 Bakehouse Close